Blog

Intrusos

Intrusos, travelling photographic exhibition of the Spanish visual artist Galla Bernal (Yaoundé-Seville-Rota)/residence of the artist in Yaoundé.

From 17 to 14 May 2014 at the IFC in Yaoundé

Coproduced and coordinated by the Cpica (for the Cameroonian side), in institutional collaboration with the IFC of Yaoundé, the Lycée Français Fustel de Coulanges and lab Sevilla (Sevilla, Spain).

esperanza

Presentation of the artist

Galla Bernal (Esperanza Bernal Gallero) was born in 1975 in Rota, Cádiz. She studied successively at the School of Arts of Jerez de la Frontera and then at the Faculty of Fine Arts Santa Isabel de Hungria in Seville, specialising in painting, engraving and design.

The artist works on various expression media such as: Serigraphy on canvas (series Almohadones, 2003), painting (series Hilo Umbilical, 2005), Sculpture-Objects (Corazas, 2008). She is currently developing her work through the Photo: Vereda, (2012), Intruders (2014), El Muelle (2016). Galla Bernal has been selected and awarded various competitions in the field of plastic arts. She regularly exposes as an individual and a collective. His first solo exhibition in 2001 will be the beginning of his engagement in an exploratory work through which she evokes and interrogates intimacy, the emotional bond between people, the daily also, and likewise leads-such a reflection on everything that binds the individual to the place where he lives.

The photographic exhibition Intrusos

Most of the photos in Intrusos are taken by the water, on the beach. In urban areas, in the heart of the city, generally, it is very difficult to see the horizon; It is a privilege shared by cities in coastal areas, like Rota the Spanish (in Andalusia), where almost all the streets lead to the sea.

Although the playful aspect is paramount and the chance has its place, the places of shooting are chosen here carefully. It’s not about making a montage with programs like Photoshop but rather scenography. Miniature figurines, whether plastic, enamel or lead, come alive thanks to a meticulous staging.

Galla Bernal plays with the scales: what is small becomes gigantic, the daily landscape changes. This is how a familiar place can suddenly transport us to the Serengueti, provided we seek a certain framing, some light and let speak its imagination

The residence in Yaounde

As part of this project, Cpica hosted the artist in residence in Yaoundé during the time of the exhibition

The presence of the artist in Cameroon was an opportunity to create meetings with the Cameroonian creators who work with CIPCA.

His stay among us was also the occasion for Galla Bernal to produce a photographic series on life in the streets of Yaoundé: Logbook, from the passenger seat.

In Douala visit to Joseph Francis Sumegne, when he restored the face of his emblematic sculpture: “The new Liberty” placed on the roundabout Carrefour Aimiebenomon.

Works

Blog

Intrusos

Intrusos, exposition photographique itinérante de la plasticienne espagnole Gallera Bernal (Yaoundé- Séville-Rota)/Résidence de l’artiste à Yaoundé. Du 17avril au 14 mai 2014 à l’IFC de Yaoundé.
Exposition Coproduite et coordonnée par le CIPCA (pour la partie camerounaise), en collaboration institutionnelle avec l’IFC de Yaoundé, le Lycée français Fustel de Coulanges et Lab Sevilla (Séville, Espagne).

Présentation de l’artiste

Gallera Bernal (Esperanza Bernal Gallero) est née en 1975 à Rota, Cadix. Elle a étudié successivement à l’Ecole des Arts de Jerez de la Frontera puis à la Faculté des Beaux-Arts Santa Isabel de Hungria de Séville, se spécialisant en peinture, gravure et design.

L’artiste travaille sur des supports d’expression variés tels que : la sérigraphie sur toile (série Almohadones, 2003), la peinture (série Hilo umbilical, 2005), la sculpture-objets (Corazas, 2008). Elle développe actuellement son œuvre à travers la photo : Vereda, (2012), Intrusos (2014), El Muelle (2016). Gallera Bernal a été sélectionnée et lauréate de divers concours dans le domaine des arts plastiques. Elle expose régulièrement à titre individuel et collectif. Sa première exposition individuelle en 2001 sera le début de son engagement dans un travail exploratoire à travers lequel elle évoque et interroge l’intimité, le lien affectif existant entre les personnes, le quotidien aussi, de même mène-telle une réflexion sur tout ce qui lie l’individu à l’endroit où il vit.

 

L’exposition photographique Intrusos

La plupart des photos dans Intrusos sont prises au bord de l’eau, sur la plage. En milieu urbain, au cœur de la cité, généralement, il est bien difficile de voir l’horizon; c’est un privilège partagé par villes en zone côtière, comme Rota l’Espagnole (en Andalousie), où presque toutes les rues débouchent sur la mer.

Bien que l’aspect ludique soit primordial et que le hasard ait sa place, les lieux de prise de vue sont choisis ici avec soin. Il ne s’agit pas de faire un montage avec des programmes comme Photoshop mais plutôt de scénographie. Les figurines miniatures, qu’elles soient en plastique, en émail ou en plomb, prennent vie grâce à une minutieuse mise en scène.

Gallera Bernal joue avec les échelles: ce qui est petit devient gigantesque, le paysage quotidien se transforme. C’est ainsi qu’un endroit familier peut soudain nous transporter au Serengueti, à condition de chercher un certain cadrage, une certaine lumière et de laisser parler son imagination.

 

La résidence à Yaoundé

Dans le cadre de ce projet le CIPCA a accueilli l’artiste en résidence à Yaoundé pendant le temps de l’exposition.
La présence de l’artiste au Cameroun a été l’occasion de susciter des rencontres avec les créateurs camerounais qui travaillent avec le CIPCA.
Son séjour parmi nous fut également l’occasion pour Gallera Bernal de produire une série photographique sur la vie dans les rue de Yaoundé : Journal de bord, depuis le siège passager.
A Douala visite à Joseph Francis Sumegne, lorsqu’il restaurait le visage de sa sculpture emblématique : « La nouvelle Liberté » placée sur le rond-point Carrefour Deidoo.