Blog

Baka and Bagyélis pygmies, the forest in inheritance

Started in the spring of 2014 the Pygmy Project Baka and Baghyelis, the Legacy forest is still underway and has two components: the support and contribution to the realization of an audiovisual artistic work: Baka, the Guardians of the Forest, and the creation of visual and sound archives devoted to the unsung culture of the Pygmies in Cameroon.

At the origin of this project, a collaboration between the CIPCA/LROA and two artists: Aitor Lara, photographer (Seville, Spain, 1974), and José Bautista (KanseiSounds), composer and sound designer (Madrid, 1968) with whom we focused on the Baka community for the realization of the audiovisual piece.
During the stay of our two collaborators and friends in the Adi reserve in March 2015, the members of the Baka community, confident in the objectives set by the association in the framework of this project, have actively contributed, driven by the ambition to communicate their culture to as many people through these two initiatives.
In general, at the end of these two years of exchanges and work, there has been a friendly and trusting relationship between the members of the CIPCA team (coordinators, collectors, artists, scientists, guides, technicians and assistants) and members of the Pygmy communities, essentially Baka and Bagyelis.
It is the result of this experimental work of the Pygmies of Cameroon, the forest in inheritance, a series of documents (photos, videos and sound recordings) that allows to discover under a renewed glance the dramatic situation experienced by these communities, due to the expropriation of their lands, and that no one can deny.
Culturally and artistically, the documents collected or created over the past two years testify not only to the peculiar sonorities of music and pygmy songs, but also to the beauty of the language and the stories that make these rich and ancient cultures live.
They also give knowledge of talents and personalities that are often generous, close and engaging.

Blog

Pygmées Baka & Bagyélis, la forêt en héritage

Débuté au printemps 2014 le projet Pygmées Baka et Baghyelis, la forêt en héritage est toujours en cours et comporte deux volets : le soutien et la contribution à la réalisation d’une œuvre artistique audiovisuelle : Baka, The Guardians of the forest, et la constitution d’archives visuelles et sonores consacrées à la culture méconnue des pygmées au Cameroun.

À l’origine de ce projet, une collaboration entre le CIPCA/ LROA et deux artistes: Aitor Lara, photographe (Séville, Espagne, 1974), et José Bautista (KanseiSounds), compositeur et sound designer (Madrid, 1968) avec qui nous nous sommes centrés sur la communauté Baka pour la réalisation de la pièce audiovisuelle.
Lors du séjour de nos deux collaborateurs et amis dans la réserve du Dja en mars 2015, les membres de la communauté Baka, confiant dans les objectifs fixés par l’association dans le cadre de ce projet, ont contribué activement, animés par l’ambition de communiquer leur culture au plus grand nombre à travers ces deux initiatives.

De manière générale, au bout de ces deux ans d’échanges et de travail se sont nouées des relations amicales et de confiance entre les membres de l’équipe CIPCA (coordonnateurs, collecteurs, artistes, scientifiques, guides, techniciens et assistants) et les membres des communautés pygmées, essentiellement Baka et Bagyelis.
Il résulte de ce travail expérimental Pygmées du Cameroun, la forêt en héritage, une série de documents (photos, vidéos et enregistrements sonores) qui permet de découvrir sous un regard renouvelé la situation dramatique vécue par ces communautés, due à l’expropriation de leurs terres, et que personne ne peut nier.
Au plan culturel et artistique, les documents collectés ou créés depuis deux ans témoignent non seulement des sonorités si particulières de la musique et des chants pygmées, mais également de la beauté de la langue et des récits qui font vivre ces cultures riches et anciennes.
Ils donnent aussi à connaître des talents et des personnalités souvent généreuses, proches et attachantes.